AP By-Election On August 26, YSRCP Upbeat About Win


Amaravati: The ruling YSR Congress party (YSRCP) is said to wrest one Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council seat from the opposition Telugu Desam Party(TDP) in the by-election slated for August 26.

By-election will be held for three seats under the Assembly quota as three sitting MLCs resigned from their posts following their election to the Lower House of the Legislature in the recent polls.

The Election Commission announced the by-election schedule on Thursday. Of the three that fell vacant, two were held by YSRCP and one by TDP. Given its current strength in the Assembly, the YSRCP would win all three seats in the by-election.

However, YSRCP would continue to be in minority in the 58-member Upper House of the Legislature as its tally would only go up to nine. The TDP has 28 members.

The Council has three more vacancies from the Local Authorities constituencies following resignation of sitting members, all of the TDP members.But the EC did not announce by-elections to fill these vacancies as the tenure of the local bodies ended early last month.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here